Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, by Jonathan Auxier

12 Jul

I know I always tell you not to judge a book by its cover. But sometimes a cover is just too good to ignore! I admit that the cover was first thing that caught my eye about this book. Check it out:

Peter NimbleIsn’t it great? 🙂 You’ll be happy to know that the story lives up to the cover! It is definitely one of my new favorites. Peter Nimble is a blind orphan who works as a thief for a cruel man. Until, that is, he steals an unusual box from an unusual traveler. In the box are three pairs of special eyes. The first pair magically transports Peter to an island where his quest truly begins.

This story has an evil king, talking ravens, a trustworthy knight (who is also a combination horse/cat), a bossy princess, and a missing prince. What more could you ask for!? I would recommend this book for fantasy fans in grades 3 – 6, although you don’t have to be a huge fantasy fan to enjoy it. Be warned: You’ll need plenty of nutritious book snacks handy when you sit down to read this book – you won’t want to put it down! I suggest granola bars and juice boxes to keep your strength up!

Unfortunately, you will probably have to wait until August to get your hands on this book because it doesn’t come out until then. I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy and I read it on my nook! Thank you, NetGalley!

5 Responses to “Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, by Jonathan Auxier”

  1. Lfern August 10, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    Such a good book!

    • Sara D. September 20, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      What’s the book like because I need a good book to read!

      • Ms. Davis September 20, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

        It’s about a boy, Peter Nimble, who is a blind thief. He finds 3 magical sets of eyes that give him different powers, but he doesn’t know what they can do until he tries them. He has to go on a quest… and THAT is where things get interesting! 🙂 I don’t have it in the library yet… but believe me, I’m working on it! 🙂

  2. Abby R. June 25, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

    This looks like a really good book I’m going to read it this summer.

    • Jennifer D. August 19, 2015 at 2:12 am #

      I want to read it too!

What do YOU think?

