Wonder, by R.J. Palacio

13 Apr

Wonder“I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.”

Auggie Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to school — until now. He’s about to start 5th grade, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances? (From the publisher)

Friends, I read this book all in one sitting – I could not put it down! This is definitely one of the best books of the year, and I absolutely love Auggie.

If you are looking for a realistic fiction book, but want something a little different, this is the book for you. This is not an easy book to snack on – you might need a box of tissues nearby, but it’s one of the most satisfying book snacks of the year. You’ll be thinking about Auggie long after the book is over.

*UPDATE: Check out this very cool site inspired by this book. Will YOU choose to be kind?

4 Responses to “Wonder, by R.J. Palacio”

  1. Sean G Nate K June 18, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    The best part of library this year was that I was able to read higher level books. I think the best part of the library was the water game. I also like all of the books Miss. Davis reads. l like the books I read. I loved how you let us do the chicken dance when we read Chicks Run Wild! I also like the snowflake movie. I love how we have so many authors visit our school.

  2. Brooke R February 7, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    I love this book so much! I read it in September and I still think about Auggie, he really is a character you can grow to love! If you haven’t read this it is a MUST READ! It is by far the best book I’ve read this year and I’m wondering why it didn’t get the Newberry Award… Oh well 🙂

  3. Arietta H. June 19, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    My sister recommended this book for me. I will maybe read it in the summer!

    • Mrs. Gersztoff June 19, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      You will love it, Arietta. It’s one of the best books I have read in a long time.

What do YOU think?

