Newbery and Caldecott Winners Announced!

4 Feb

Last week the Newbery and Caldecott winners were announced, and I am so excited about what books were honored!

The Caldecott Award was given to This is Not My Hat, by Jon Klassen.Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 10.23.53 AM If you remember last year’s I Want My Hat Back, this is similar – but I think it’s much funnier! We have this book in the library, so be sure to check it out!

The Caldecott Committee also chose 5 Honor books. This is rather unusual. They are: Green, by Lauren Vaccaro Seeger, Sleep Like a Tiger, by Mary Logue, One Cool Friend, by Toni Buzzeo, Creepy Carrots, by Peter Brown, and Extra Yarn, by Mac Barnett. We have the last three titles in our library, too, and I’m working on getting the two we’re missing. One extra cool thing about this year is that Jon Klassen, the author and illustrator of the Caldecott winner, is also the illustrator of Extra Yarn! Wow!

Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 10.52.00 AMThe Newbery Committee selected one of my favorite books as the Newbery winner this year: The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate. I blogged about this book way back in the spring of last year. Check out this blog post for more information about the book – and about Ivan. Ivan will be featured in Literary Lunches for several grade levels, so be sure to sign up when it gets to yours!

We also have all of the Newbery Honor books in our library! Splendors and Glooms, by Laura Amy Schlitz is a bit creepy, but who doesn’t love a good, scary historical fantasy? Three Times Lucky, by Sheila Turnage was also honored. This book tells the story of Mo LeBeau, who washed ashore by herself as a baby in the small southern town of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina. Mo and her best friend, Dale, take it upon themselves to try to solve a local murder mystery. Don’t be nervous, though, this book is more funny and heart-warming than scary. The final honor book is Bomb: The Race to Build and Steal The World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, by local author Steve Sheinkin! It’s a non-fiction book about the atomic bomb and its development. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 10.40.11 AMScreen Shot 2013-02-04 at 10.47.40 AMScreen Shot 2013-02-04 at 10.51.10 AM

19 Responses to “Newbery and Caldecott Winners Announced!”

  1. Tommy I. June 24, 2014 at 9:54 am #

    I can’t wait to read this summer!

    • Giancarlo.c June 24, 2014 at 9:59 am #

      I cant wait too.

      • Bianca Anne L. June 24, 2014 at 10:21 am #

        I ca’t wait too!!!!!

    • Ryan G. June 24, 2014 at 10:27 am #

      I agree

      • Grace M. June 24, 2014 at 10:57 am #

        Me too!

  2. Emma.L June 24, 2014 at 10:24 am #

    Me three

    • Emma.L June 24, 2014 at 10:28 am #

      I will read The princess diaries.

      • Grace M. June 24, 2014 at 10:56 am #

        I’m really not into princesses, I think they are way to girly! 😦 I’m more into sports and fantasy/ fiction books, but I can’t wait to read in the summer! 🙂

    • Davin T. June 24, 2014 at 10:53 am #

      Me four

  3. Ryan G. June 24, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    I’ve been reading “Penalty Shot” by Matt Christopher and it is pretty good if you like sports.

  4. Bianca Anne L. June 24, 2014 at 10:28 am #

    This summer I’m going to be reading “Warriors: Ravenpaw’s Path: Shattered Peace” by Erin Hunter. I have read part of it, and it’s good so far.

    • Sarah C. June 24, 2014 at 10:54 am #

      I think that book is really good, I can’t wait to read it!

  5. Ian L. June 24, 2014 at 10:46 am #

    Please read the How to Train Your Dragon it is one of the best series I have ever read.

    • Ben I. June 24, 2014 at 10:53 am #

      Ian I might want to read that it sound good.

  6. Davin T. June 24, 2014 at 10:50 am #

    This summer I am going to read as much series as I can.;)

  7. Corey T June 24, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    I am going to be reading Noggin By: John Corey Whaley and it is a good book for people who like fiction. 🙂

  8. Ben I. June 24, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    This summer I am going to my camp and i’m going to read under a tree. I want to read “noggin.” Some of my friend read that book and they told me it was funny and I love funny books.

  9. Grace M. June 24, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    I’m going to read Eragon by Christopher Paolini this summer in my backyard under the shade, I can’t wait to read it because I love graphic novels! I can’t wait for summer reading, I’ll be visiting the library a lot! GO SUMMER!

  10. corey T June 24, 2014 at 10:59 am #

    More books I am going to try to read is Harry potter 1,2,3,4,5,6.

What do YOU think?

