Not So Scary Ghosts

8 Jul

Summer is a good time to stretch your reading and try books that you wouldn’t normally pick up. This week I’ve read two books involving ghosts – but they’re probably not what you are thinking. 🙂 

Small Medium at Large

The first book is Small Medium at Large, by Joanne Levy. I chose to read this book because I thought the title and cover were very interesting. Do you know what a “medium” is? It doesn’t just mean a shirt size! A medium is someone who can communicate with dead people – or ghosts! When Lilah Bloom, a regular 12-year-old girl, discovers her new talent after being struck by lightning at her mom’s wedding. 

One of the things I really like about this book was how surprisingly realistic it is. Lilah seems like a totally normal girl, dealing with totally normal problems (parents, friends, boys, school). It just so happens that she can also talk to her dead grandmother, and any other spirits who happen to be around. This book snack is perfect for fans of realistic fiction in grades 4-6 who want to try out a science fiction book. 

Image

The second book I read was Radiance, by Alyson Noel. This short novel really surprised me because I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did. The main character, Riley, isn’t technically called a ghost in the book, but it takes place after she dies. When Riley is 12 years old, her family is in a car accident and only her sister survives. Riley is having a hard time adjusting to her new surroundings, and is finally given a job to do. I can’t really tell you much more except that it involves returning to earth to help other souls choose to “move on.” Some parts of this book are a little scary, so I definitely recommend this book snack to students in grades 5 and up. It is part of a series, so you can keep snacking if you enjoy it! 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Not So Scary Ghosts”

  1. Christinelle .S June 24, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    I think I will read this book this summer!

    • Phoebe D. June 26, 2014 at 12:44 pm #

      Same here.!!!!!!
      I would want read the book to.!!!!!!

  2. Abby R. June 26, 2014 at 5:29 am #

    I want to read it it looks good.

  3. Reed September 2, 2014 at 9:33 am #

    What is this book:-/

What do YOU think?

