Fly Away, by Patricia MacLachlan

24 Jun

I’ve just finished my first book of the summer! Fly Away by Patricia MacLachlan. This is a very short and simple story about a family on a visit to Aunt Frankie’s farm. I really like how the author is able to make me feel like I know the characters as people in such a short time. Lucy is the main character, but we get to know her whole family: Dad, also known as Boots, Mom, older sister Gracie, younger brother Teddy, and Aunt Frankie. Aunt Frankie is one of my favorite characters because she’s tough and independent, but also very loving.

This book would be a tasty book snack for students in second through fourth grade. It would be a good fit for students who enjoy realistic fiction, and even poetry.

Fly Away, by Patricia MacLachlan

7 Responses to “Fly Away, by Patricia MacLachlan”

  1. Marlie B. :D June 25, 2014 at 10:14 am #

    Mrs.G, can you show me that book next year! I would love to read it! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

  2. Cara C. June 25, 2014 at 10:23 am #

    I want to read it

  3. Abby R. June 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

    This book is really is really good cara

  4. Phoebe D. June 26, 2014 at 11:01 am #

    I really want to read all of your books this summer.!!!!!!

  5. Arietta H. June 26, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    This looks like a very good book! I have read some great books written by this author!

  6. Jennifer D. June 27, 2014 at 11:58 am #

    That book sounds really good.

What do YOU think?

